Utah Arts Festival 2019: Winners announced for Artists Marketplace, Wasatch IronPen, Wordfest individual, team poetry slam competitions


The 43rd Utah Arts Festival has announced various awards for visual arts and the Wordfest literary arts programs. Nine awards were presented for the Artists Marketplace. All of the visual artist award winners are eligible for invitation to the Utah Arts Festival in 2020. Best of Show and People’s Choice Award winners also will have their booth fees waived.



Donor Jury Award: Mike Beals, Metalwork, Apple Valley, Utah

Gallery Association Award: Prince Duncan Williams, 2-D Mixed Media, Las Vegas

Board of Directors Award: Jennah Lietcky Yost and Paul Yost, Metalwork, Cheshire, Oregon

Artist Marketplace Award: Shawn Harris, Digital Art/Digital Photography, Trinidad, Colorado


Donor Jury Award: Kerrin Pogozelski, Fiber, Denver

Gallery Association Award: Aileen Frick, 2-D Mixed Media, Phoenix

Board of Directors Award: Brittany Hansen, Graphics/Printmaking, Joseph City, Arizona

Artist Marketplace Award: Amy Flynn, 3-D Mixed Media, Raleigh, North Carolina

PEOPLE’S CHOICE: Jennifer Seeley, 2-D Mixed Media, Tooele, Utah

Wasatch IronPen/UltraPen Contest, The Salt Lake Community College Writing Center, 13th anniversary

Ultra – Adult

Winner: Devin Etcitty, Come with Me and Let’s Play in the Sand

Honorable Mention: Denae Tidwell, Moon Launch

Ultra – Youth

Winner: Bess Bateman, The Hematite Connection, Finite Space (from two perspectives), Station 13-48

Honorable Mention: Lalith Suresh, Just a Face Upon a Cliff

Fiction – Adult

Winner: James Cox, That One Night

Honorable Mention: Pete Gomben, A Man Can Only Take So Much

Fiction – Youth

Winner: Shwe Sin Shoon Lei, On the Surface

Honorable Mention: Gwendolyne Longcrier, The Incident

Nonfiction – Adult

Winner: Justice Morath, big ol’ reflecto-thingy

Honorable Mention: Sarah Rose, Paper Cups and String

Nonfiction – Youth

Winner: Beastrice Teigen, Seen From a Moving Car

Poetry – Adult

Winner: Rachel White, Height of the Space Age

Honorable Mention: David Ahlman, Marians: Poetry

Poetry – Youth

Winner: Jane Galian, flawed connection

Honorable Mention: Francesca Vales, Work in Progress


High School Indie Slam winner: Chelsea Guevara

Indie Slam Winner: Flynn Dexter (Las Vegas)

Team Slam Winners: Portland team: Sage Lilac, Stephen Meads, Jane Belinda, Julia Gaskill

Previous articleBachauer International Piano Festival brings three internationally acclaimed soloists, Utah soprano, Fry Street Quartet, nine young pianists
Next articleUtah Arts Festival 2019: El Desierto, The End, Neighborhood take top Fear No Film festival honors
Les Roka
I am a native of Toledo, Ohio, having received my Ph.D. in journalism and mass communication from Ohio University's Scripps School of Journalism in 2002. In addition to teaching at Utah State University and the University of Utah, I have worked extensively in public relations for a variety of organizations including a major metropolitan university, college of osteopathic medicine, and community college. When it comes to intellectual curiosity, I venture into as many areas as possible, whether it’s about music criticism, the history of journalism, the practice of public relations in a Web 2.0 world and the soon-to-arrive Web 3.0 landscape, or how public debates are formed about many issues especially in the political arena. As a Salt Lake City resident, I currently write and edit a blog called The Selective Echo that provides an entertaining, informative, and provocative look at Salt Lake City and its cosmopolitan best. I also have been the U.S. editorial advisor for an online publication Art Design Publicity based in The Netherlands. And, I use social media tools such as Twitter for blogging, networking with journalists and experts, and staying current on the latest trends in culture and news. I also have been a regular monthly contributor to a Utah business magazine, and I have recently conducted a variety of editing projects involving authors and researchers throughout the country and the world, including Dubai, Saudi Arabia, Canada, Lebanon, Cyprus, the United Kingdom, France, and Japan. I’m also a classically trained musician who spent more than 15 years in a string quartet, being involved in more than 400 performances.

Leave a Reply